Fire District Board of Directors

The Fire District is managed by a five member Board of Directors. Directors are elected through District-wide elections every other year. Terms are four years* in length, and the District has a two term limit.


* - Terms elected in 2020 and 2022 will be three years due to changes in DOLA policy. See explanation below. 

Mike Richardson

Mike was born in New Hampshire and grew up in the suburbs north of NY City. He moved to Estes Park in the fall of 1980 and has had 3 distinct careers and currently works as a Real Estate Broker, working at Mountain Paradise Real Estate. Mike is very proud to be an active member of the Estes Park Community.  His Fire Department experience includes being a member of the Glen Haven Volunteer Fire Dept. for 4 years, serving on their Fire Board and as an Estes Park Volunteer Fire Fighter from 2003-2010. He is very proud of the service provided by the EVFPD and the members that give their time and energy to protecting life and property. He also volunteers as an auxiliary member of the EPH Ambulance team. Mike is a proud father of two children, Nathan and Alexis.

Elected to first term: 2014

Elected to second term: 2018

Term limited in 2022

Ed Ford
Vice President

Ed has lived in Estes Park for 55 years. He has worked for the Estes Park Sanitation District for 38 years where he is currently the plant superintendent. Ed was on the Estes Park Volunteer Fire Department for 17 years, where he served as a firefighter, EMT, and Assistant Chief. Being on the board of the EVFPD, Ed's goal has been to keep the department evolving and improving to continue to be the best department possible.

Elected to first term: 2014

Elected to second term: 2018

Term limited in 2022

Jon Hodde

Jon moved to Estes Park in 2014. He recently served a 4-year term on the Estes Park School Board. Jon works for Shamrock Foods and is actively involved with other organizations in the community. Jon’s wife Megan works as dispatcher for the Town of Estes Park, is an active member of the Fire District, as well as involved in other community organizations. They have two children, Ian and Bailey.

Jon pursued a position on the Fire District Board of Directors to continue his involvement within the community. His goals include continuing the high level of performance of the district, maintaining a balance between the needs of the district and that of the community, and emphasizing fiscal responsibility. 

Appointed to fill vacated seat: January 2020

Elected to first term: 2020

Larry Leaming

Larry recently retired as the Chief Executive Officer for Estes Park Health after 3 years of service. He has been active in healthcare for 40+ years and served as CEO of multiple rural hospitals for the past 25 years. He has experience in Emergency Medical Services as a Registered Respiratory Therapist and Administrator of Paramedic EMS services in multiple rural hospitals. 
Dr. Leaming has a master’s and doctoral degree in health administration and leadership. He currently consults and teaches health administration at the master and doctoral levels for the University of Northern Colorado and the Medical University of South Carolina. Larry and his wife Linda live in Estes Park and have three grown children and two grandchildren all living within 40 miles of Estes Park. 


His goals include supporting the mission, vision, and the success of the fire district by providing exemplary governance and supporting the leadership of the district. 

Elected to first term: 2020

Dave Hamrick


Dave Hamrick has lived in Estes Park since 1996. He recently retired from the USDA Forest Service, where he spent his last 12 years as the North Zone Fire Management Officer for the Arapaho and Roosevelt National Forests. Dave began his fire career with the National Park Service in 1989, working in Zion National Park, Sequoia-Kings Canyon National Park, and Rocky Mountain National Park. Dave moved to the USDA Forest Service in 2003 to be the Superintendent of the Roosevelt Hotshot Crew. After leaving the Hotshots in 2007, Dave served as a regular member of Incident Management Teams in positions including Operations Section Chief, Operations Branch Director and Division Supervisor. He graduated from Washington and Lee University with a BA in English (‘84) and completed the Technical Fire Management program through Washington Institute (‘01). Dave and his wife Amy enjoy outdoor adventures with their dog Clifford.


As a member of the EVFPD Board, Dave’s goal is to support the mission of the District and its members and to help them continue providing safe and professional emergency services in the years ahead.

Appointed to fill vacated seat: 2020

Rules for elections in Special Districts (such as the Estes Valley Fire District) are managed by the Colorado Department of Local Affairs (DOLA). Starting in 2020, special district elections will be migrated from even years to odd years. Therefore Directors elected in 2020 and 2022 will serve a three (3) year term. Elections will then be moved to odd years (2023, 2025, etc), and return to four year terms. For more information from DOLA, click on the image below.