Skip to main content

Board of Directors

The Fire District is managed by a five member Board of Directors. Directors are elected through District-wide elections every odd year (2023, 2025, etc). Terms are four years* in length, and the Directors have a two term limit.

* - Terms elected in 2020 and 2022 will be three years due to changes in DOLA policy moving elections from even to odd years. See explanation below. 

Graphic explanation of DOLA election schedule transitioning from even to odd years.


Notice of Cancellation of 2022 Election


Jon Hodde

Photo of Board Member Jon Hodde

Jon moved to Estes Park in 2014. He previously served a 4-year term on the Estes Park School Board. Jon works for Shamrock Foods and is actively involved with other organizations in the community. Jon’s wife Megan works as the Dispatch Manager for the Town of Estes Park, is an active member of the Fire District, as well as involved in other community organizations. They have two children, Ian and Bailey.

​Jon pursued a position on the Fire District Board of Directors to continue his involvement within the community. His goals include continuing the high level of performance of the district, maintaining a balance between the needs of the district and that of the community, and emphasizing fiscal responsibility. 

​Appointed to fill vacated seat: January 2020

Elected to first term: 2020

Elected to second term: 2023


Marybeth Bruchwalski


May contain: American flag, and person Marybeth Bruchwalski

Marybeth has called Estes Park home for 12 of the last 20 years having left and returned. She has been in the healthcare industry for over 30 years and is currently employed at Aspen Eyecare here in Estes Park. Marybeth's husband Ron is retired from the FAA and serves the EVFPD as a Lieutenant. Ron and Marybeth have two sons, one active duty US Air Force and the other a veteran of the US Navy; along with four granddaughters.

Although Marybeth will not be dragging a hose inside of a burning building, she does understand the demands and needs of a healthy tax-based district charged with public safety. Marybeth looks forward to the future of the fire district while working with the community, board, staff, and volunteers to have a positive impact on the future of the Estes Valley. She promises to remain a representative of the citizens in return for her placement on the EVFPD Board of Directors. 

​Elected to first term: 2023



Brian Tseng, M.D., Ph.D.


Photo of Board Member Brian Tseng

Brian has lived in Colorado 3 times in his life. He first lived in Estes Park in 1999 working at EP Med Center and has been back whenever possible. In 2019, he and his wife Cindy bought a place in EP and have been happily living here year-round now. Their 2 grown children remain on the East Coast. Dr. Tseng is a board-certified MD/PhD physician-neuroscientist and has led large teams of teams as Vice-Presidents in two top Fortune 500 healthcare companies. His most recent clinical/academic practice has been at Massachusetts General Hospital – Harvard Medical School and previously Colorado Children's Hospital. He is also NOLS Wilderness Medicine WUMP certified First-Responder. Dr. Tseng also teaches in several medical schools and volunteers on several Boards of non-profit Patient Advocacy and Patient Foundations. Dr. Tseng eagerly sought a position on the Fire District Board of Directors to support our incredible Fire District on its most ambitious mission to provide for the residents of and guests to the Estes Valley with superior fire protection, fire prevention and emergency services in a safe and efficient manner.

Elected to first term: 2022


Dave Hamrick


Photo of Board Member Dave Hamrick

Dave Hamrick has lived in Estes Park since 1996. He recently retired from the USDA Forest Service, where he spent his last 12 years as the North Zone Fire Management Officer for the Arapaho and Roosevelt National Forests. Dave began his fire career with the National Park Service in 1989, working in Zion National Park, Sequoia-Kings Canyon National Park, and Rocky Mountain National Park. Dave moved to the USDA Forest Service in 2003 to be the Superintendent of the Roosevelt Hotshot Crew. After leaving the Hotshots in 2007, Dave served as a regular member of Incident Management Teams in positions including Operations Section Chief, Operations Branch Director and Division Supervisor. He graduated from Washington and Lee University with a BA in English (‘84) and completed the Technical Fire Management program through Washington Institute (‘01). Dave and his wife Amy enjoy outdoor adventures with their dog Clifford.

As a member of the EVFPD Board, Dave’s goal is to support the mission of the District and its members and to help them continue providing safe and professional emergency services in the years ahead.

​Appointed to fill vacated seat: 2020

Elected to first term: 2022


Ryan Bross

Photo of Board Member Ryan Bross


Ryan was born & raised in a town of 3,500 in northeastern Missouri. He moved to Columbia, MO to attend the University of Missouri, and lived there for the next 21 years. Ryan was an established banker in Missouri but desired to make Estes Park his full-time home. After several years of effort, Ryan was hired by Bank of Colorado in 2019 where he is Senior Vice President.  Ryan is an active member of the Chamber of Commerce, and the Board President of the Estes Park Nonprofit Resource Center.

Elected to first term: 2022